So… anyway friends

I have a handful of friends that I would categorise as “so… anyway friends”. That probably sounds as though it’s a derogatory term but in fact it’s the highest compliment that I can give. Let me explain what makes a “so… anyway friend” so truly awesome and appreciated.

It’s been 6 days, weeks, months, years since we last spoke and the first words that I speak once my friend answers the phone are “so… anyway” and continue straight on with a previous conversation that we have had or one that I think that we have had in my head and the friend “gets me” enough to know where I am coming from.

These friends are worth their weight in gold.. or good quality coffee!

Like all good things in life these friends are rare and to be treasured and perhaps even used (not in a bad way) sparingly or otherwise intensely in short bursts. Sometimes it can feel quite confronting to see just how well a friend “gets you” and understands your many quirks/violent mood swings.

I think if I were on the edge of building about to jump and one of my “so… anyway” friends called me I would calmly sit down and have a lovely conversation. These friends are there when it seems like nobody else is. They are the friends who return your calls, usually remember your birthday and ALWAYS comment on your pimples… in a nice way.

I think there has to be a limit to the members of this exclusive club and I would say that my club probably only has 3 or 4 members that I would do anything for, think the world of and think that I am the bees knees too.

So… anyway, that’s all I have to say about that.

 

Leave a Reply

