How long is a piece of string?

I’ve had this question that’s been preying on my mind for sometime (Hi Sting).
How long IS a piece of string?
With the question rattling around in my brain with the answer seeming far too obvious…

Why don’t you just measure it?

Which got me thinking is there anything left that can’t be measured? How fast was that car going? How hot is it in here? How much sweat does an athlete lose during a game (I didn’t ask that one but someone else knows the answer).

So where has all the mystery gone? Have we worked everything out? Do we know all the answers and if so why am I still asking questions?

My 4 year old son said today that he loves me 20. He didn’t specify 20 what’s? Just 20. I can’t argue with his logic (I’ve tried in the past and failed miserably). But I know it’s a lot because he still struggles to remember all the teen numbers so declaring his love at 20 means it’s big.

The best thing about being loved 20 is that it’s not a definable amount. So are our innermost thoughts and feelings one of the few things left in life that is unquantifiable?

We hear phrases like “I love you to the moon and back” or “I love you more than life itself”. We know that this means a lot but which one is more? Does it matter? Or is measuring the depth of our love, friendships,  relationships, family and friends that mythical and magical ball of string?

Leave a Reply

