Free holiday? Hmmm, let me think about it.

So I heard about a competition to win a Queensland holiday. Sounds good in theory right but the whole idea left me with some serious questions.

Now lets just say for arguments sake that I had entered (I didn’t) and won (well you’ve got to be in it to win it) a Queensland holiday my first decision would be easy I know that I would want to spend more than 24 hours away from my 2 gorgeous children for the first time in 4 years… but here is my issue, would I have to take my husband?

See we don’t travel well together. We are not compatible on holidays. We fight or should I say I fight. I get bored and pick fights. He walks too fast, he walks too slow, he acts like a tourist or he doesn’t ask for directions enough. And I know it’s not his fault because I have had other bad holiday experiences with other people… don’t ask, it was awful!

Me? I’d like a week on my own to relax and unwind. Read my book on the beach, do every activity listed at the resort or just wander around trying out every cafe in the area. Whatever I wanted, when I wanted!

I want to want to travel with my husband and share new experiences and see new things and explore beaches, markets and the Great Barrier Reef but I really just don’t want to.

Hang on a minute… snorkelling on the Great Barrier Reef may be the perfect answer to my dilemma. Spending time together without having to talk and as long as he doesn’t scare off the fish or take unflattering photos of me in my spotted one piece swimsuit we should be fine! Well a girl can dream can’t she?

Leave a Reply

