Same, same but not different.

Do you ever look at your life and wonder what makes you special? What makes you different? What sets you apart from the person next door? (Apart from having a different house number obviously.)

I can’t think of anything right now. I can’t pin point one specific thing that makes me unique.

Yeah I’m a mum and that’s a special thing but there are a lot of ladies with kids in the world. There are a lot of ladies without kids. I don’t want the fact that I’m a mum to define me for the rest of my life.

I don’t want to be just a wife either. I’m still me. Maybe less of me than I used to be though.

I’m also a teacher. A shop assistant. A drinker of coffee. A lover of baths. A football fan.

I lust after smooth cakes that melt on your tongue and make you feel full in an unpleasant way.

I want to own nice things.

I’d like to get lost… and not just in industrial estates like I usually do but really lost. Or just lost in a book.

I want to study life drawing. I want to enrol in the croquembouche class at the CAE.

I want to make a difference. I want to feel different. I want to know how to use the word differential properly in a sentence.

I think I went off topic somewhere.

Maybe I’m not different from you? Maybe we’re all different? Maybe that’s why we feel the same?

Maybe you don’t feel the same.

Maybe you are unique…

But I don’t think I am.

Leave a Reply

