Some unasked for advice free of charge…

An open letter to Generation, um, whatever we’re up to now,

You might think I’m old.

I’m clearly not. I’m funky, hip and cool.

What’s that? We don’t use those words anymore?

Sorry.

But here are some things I think that I know:

– You won’t be happy all the time. That’s normal. It’s called life. It’s nobody’s fault so don’t look to blame anyone. Find something to do, maybe help someone and the happy will come back.

– Not all your friends are your friends.
And even the friends that are your friends won’t always have time for you. That’s okay too. If you’re upset about it maybe help someone else and make new friends.

– Drinking single origin coffee doesn’t make you better than anyone else (and you know you can’t tell the difference anyway). Save up all those 50 cents and use them to help someone else.

– The rest of us don’t owe you anything but if you want to watch, learn and work hard then the only thing you’ll owe is gratitude. Which can be paid forward when you help others.

(Goodness me! Someone pass me a tissue. I think I got a blood nose while sitting up here I on my moral high horse.)

So anyway… maybe this next generation is going to be so well informed that they know all this anyway.

Or maybe they’ll be so busy capturing and tagging life that they will forget to look for those that they can help.

And to clarify you can help without giving money.

You can help with your time, commitment, love, respect and listening to the people who want to talk.

That’s all.

From me.

P.S Yeah. I think I might Cc myself on this letter.

3 thoughts on “Some unasked for advice free of charge…

    • If I was cool I’d totally be able to answer those questions you wrote. Ha! I’m a little brain dead at the moment or my brain may be too full to remember my password so that I can log in on the computer. Oh man! That whole sentence sounded old. Take care. I’m going to go and stalk your blog for a bit now 🙂

      • Take your time! Also, the experience of brain issues is something quite familiar to me … I like to tell myself that that’s just a sign I’m using it too much – which should be a good thing, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

