Cuckoo’s nest…

You know that saying “if it takes a stay in a psychiatric hospital for you to admit that you need help then something is wrong”?

No? Well it’s one that I heard a lot recently in my group sessions… during my stay in a psychiatric hospital.

So in order to avoid any further time “on the inside” I feel that I should quietly point out now that I need a little bit of help at the moment.

An exotic combination of depression, stress at work, stress at home and lack of sleep all wrapped up in a mask of denial has been my undoing.

But it’s all good now.

No actually it’s not. It’s definitely not.

I wish that I could pinpoint one thing that pushed me over the edge but I can’t. Everything just got so heavy and I just kept pretending that I was okay.

A few of my closest friends saw it coming but I didn’t know how to stop it and I didn’t want to bother anyone by asking for help.

So a little word of advice for you all. Let your mask down sometimes. Ask for help if you need it. Just don’t ask me just yet, I need to help myself first.

* Oh and for heavens sake watch out for the middle aged men during morning meetings. Those guys are worse than teenage boys when it comes to sexual innuendo.

And yes they will snigger at you every time they see you and ask if you’ve had your daily long black yet but in a way that suggests that they’re glad to see you and appreciate that you make them smile.

* * Some other “helpful” sayings from the psychiatric hosptial:

-Believe it to achieve it.
-Motivation follows action.
-It takes 6 weeks to make a habit.
-Failure to plan is planning to fail.

Leave a Reply

