This is not a food blog…

Would it be strange for me to blog about my newfound love of porridge?

Should I do it anyway?

12 months ago I didn’t like porridge at all. And let me be that clear I didn’t like it sooooo much that I’d never even tried it.

I thought it was gluggy and flavorless. I got this impression though from seeing it dished up from a massive pot at camps.

But now I love porridge. I love the 90 second version cooked in the microwave (I only cook it for 88 seconds because I like to put my own signature spin on dishes) but I really love the stove top variety.

I make it myself. It adds an extra 10 minutes to my morning routine and as someone who prides herself on being able to get ready quickly that’s quite a sacrifice.

But I think that one of the things I like the best is that you can’t rush eating it.

It’s not like a diet shake or bar that you can eat in the car on the way to work or even a cereal that you can make at work or gulp down at the sink.

The porridge is hot. It requires patience and time. A luxury I don’t usually have.

I make my porridge with oats, water, cinnamon and a pinch of salt.

I also cook a banana in brown sugar dissolved in water.

Sometimes I toast coconut for crunch or add bran.

And I always have a coffee or two.

On the days that I don’t need to go to work early I might take my porridge back to bed with a book and quietly contemplate my day.

I didn’t like porridge a year ago and now I do. But only an idiot would pay $12 for it in a cafe.

Leave a Reply

