Dancing with gorillas…

“Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass, it’s about learning to dance in the rain.” -Vivian Greene.

Yes. Why not? How lovely for people to share this quote without thinking it through.

I’ve had pneumonia once and every winter when I cough I think it’s come back again so um no, I don’t think dancing in the rain is best medical practice.

Are you naked dancing in the rain? Because that would be awkward and probably unflattering and possibly illegal.

Are you wearing clothes and a rain jacket? Because I was wearing my rain jacket in the pouring rain on Sunday morning but I was accidentally wearing it inside out and then because it was wet I had to keep wearing it inside out so that can be troublesome and awkward as well.

Do you have an umbrella? Because they can be dangerous too and there was that one time in Denmark when friends of my parents came to visit me and it was raining and I accidentally lent them a children’s umbrella and this very large man walked around the nations capital with a small umbrella barely covering his head and shoulders.

Gumboots? Wellies? Galoshes? Whatever you want to call them I am in favour of them and the wonderful confidence you get jumping in puddles except for that one time when I accidentally jumped in a puddle that went up to my knees and filled my gumboots very quickly. They also usually have a slippery sole and therefore dancing could be quite dangerous especially on shiny tiled surfaces.

I could go on. (In fact I already have quite a bit.)

So yeah I understand the sentiment behind the saying and how we need to look for the good in the moment and that bit in The Notebook when Rachel McAdams and Ryan Gosling get caught in the rain and have a lovely old time but I just want to remind you to be careful. Careful not anxious.

Dance in the rain but be prepared that it too can have consequences.

I came across another quote on twitter recently so it can not accurately be attributed to anyone but it says that “Success is like fighting a gorilla. You don’t stop when you’re tired, you stop when the gorilla is tired”.

I like this one. It makes sense. It’s relevant to all sorts of battles, situations and life events.

Not that you should ever put yourself in the position to be fighting a gorilla in the first place obviously but yeah, you get the drift.

Having said all that though given the choice I would choose dancing in the rain over fighting a gorilla any day of the week. I’d just have a long hot bath and a milo afterwards.

Leave a Reply

