Good, bad and horrid…

“There was a little girl,
And she had a little curl,
Right in the middle of her forehead.
When she was good
She was very, very good
And when she was bad she was horrid.”

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow.

So the excerpt from a poem above is about a young girl called Jemima who misbehaves and in turn is spanked by her mother.

The line from the poem that has always stuck with me is the bit about when she was good, she was very, very good.

I relate to that.

When I am good, I am so awesomely amazing and wonderful that I see sunshine and rainbows and good things everywhere I turn.

I smile and laugh and enjoy all the good that there is in in life.

But when I’m feeling bad I’m horrid.

I become hard work and I understand that I’m not fun to be around.

I don’t really like being around me either.

And therein lays the problem.

I don’t want to bother you when I’m feeling at my crappiest. I don’t want to be a burden. I don’t want to suck the life out of you or come across as being all dark and down.

When I’m feeling horrid I hide it and hide the things I feel and do.

Although my extremely short hairstyle no longer offers me the option of a curl in the middle of my forehead most of the time lately I’ve been very, very good.

I know what makes me happy and I know when I need to switch off from reality and find something creative to do or bake.

I am so much better at staying away from the bad but there are still times when I’m horrid. xx

Leave a Reply

