Do not pass go…

And now some unsolicited and completely unsound financial advice.

My kids like to play Monopoly or Bonocoly as the 5 year old calls it.

(Should probably have his ears and speech tested.)

I kind of like how it teaches them that you need money to pay for things and that you have to sell and mortgage properties when you run out of money and pay fines etc.

The thing however that I hate about Monopoly at the moment and it seemingly haunting me is the card that you pick up that says “Bank error in your favour. Collect (however much it is).”

I have recently had 2 bank errors NOT in my favour.

However… one was completely my fault.

It resulted in what turned out to be the unintentional purchase of a $42 packet of peanuts from a 7/11 store.

Let me explain because I can tell from the tone of your listening that you’re curious.

I was in the city taking $40 out from the ATM when I was distracted by the wall of nuts. I was away from my son who is allergic to nuts so I went a little crazy and decided to buy the $2 peanuts.

Unfortunately for me I made this purchase in between removing my card and taking the money out of the machine and by the time I realised this the machine had sucked my money back up.

Damn. A phone call later and it should be returned in 5-10 business days. Blah, blah, blah.

The other bank error occurred when I bought a beanie last week and I used the tap function thingy on my credit card but somehow (and I only noticed this several days later) that it must have tapped twice.

So let me reiterate that Monopoly lies.

It is not real life.

Nobody is getting bank errors in their favour. They are getting recorded messages when they call the number on the back of their cards and options that aren’t relevant to $42 peanuts.

It’s a board game people!

Read you bank statements.

Trust nobody!

*Please note this advice is free of charge and comes from someone who took and passed Economics in Year 12 of High School.

*Please also note that this advice is from a 36 year old woman who only recently discovered that when they say a 90% chance of rain on the weather forecast this does not mean that it will rain for 90% of the day.

Leave a Reply

