All that jazz…

Let me preface this post by saying that I don’t know much about music.

But tonight I listened to music that made me cry with just, with just, with just emotion I guess.

Megan Washington singing Begin Again accompanied by an amazing jazz quartet in a venue that sounds brilliant resulted in some tears that I wasn’t expecting.

And then a guest saxophone player who made me want to take off my clothes with the first note he played.

Regarding the above comment… that’s normal right? I mean not Kenny G but a low tone that sounds like sex.

Anyways back to the music. A night out. Great seats. A standing ovation and a Romanian pianist whose fingers flew so quickly and so lightly that it made you hold your breath.

A drummer with no neck playing with brushes and seemingly standing out and blending in at the same time.

And the double bass player. What is it with the bass players? He bounced, he laughed, he slapped that thing hard and fast and with a skill that made you mirror his absurd facial expressions.

Joy. Pure joy. Held together by a veteran trumpet aficionado who was clearly in his element playing with his peers in front of an audience that have known him for decades.

And this, ladies and gentlemen is why I don’t write music reviews. I don’t know much about music but I felt it tonight. I had to keep reminding myself to relax as my posture tensed with concentration.

But hey peeps, I got out of the house. I went out. Past my bedtime and was mostly civil towards my husband after we’d left the house.

Dancing in the carpark afterwards on my own as though nobody was watching.

But those that were watching smiled at me.

Good music. Good company. Good night. xx

Leave a Reply

