You are my SONshine…

Sometimes emotions just jump out at you don’t they?

I’m sitting here reading a book in an indoor trampoline venue with music pumping while my two gorgeous sons are bouncing.

I just looked over at them and tears came to my eyes as I saw how big they are. Jumping, playing together and so big and independent.

Often I try not to think about how much I love them and sometimes they make it very easy for me to forget.

When I realise how much I love them though my mind does that horrible thing where worst case scenarios build up and I freak out about what it would be like if something happened to them.

It’s not something that you could ever prepare for though so I’ve learned not to think about it.

But man these boys are amazing.

I worry sometimes that I tell them I love them too much but they’re still happy to kiss me goodbye in the mornings at school so I must be doing something right.

I wish I had more time and energy just to lie on the floor with them and play board games and eat popcorn and wrestle.

More time to answer all the questions they have. The ones they usually ask when we’re in a hurry to go out and I can’t answer them properly.

Questions about volcanos and tornadoes and who they might invite to their birthday parties in 6 months time.

As a parent do you ever get to that stage when you stop looking at your kids as though they are the most amazing beings on earth?

I love how much I know them.

How their brains work.

How funny they are.

How they sing “we will rock you” together while building Lego.

I am so extremely fortunate to be a mother to two healthy children.

They are the best part of me.

And they love me.

And maybe if we all just loved our children and saw ourselves the way that they see us and love us we would all get along a little better.

Leave a Reply

