Weekend adventures…

On Saturday I drove 3.5 hours with a I’ve known for years but never spent that much time with.

I was nervous that we’d run out of things to say. That it would be awkward.

It wasn’t.

We stayed with another friend in the most amazing location with fresh air and a huge sky.

The stars were bigger, brighter and closer and I had a huge bed all to myself.

It really doesn’t get much better than that.

Unless you throw in lovely conversation, compassion, kindness and empathy.

And chocolate by the row.

The effect on my soul and my psyche was huge.

The was peace everywhere and it got in me.

There were birds and leaves and supposedly deer but I didn’t see any evidence of them.

Even when I honked really loudly in what I thought to be a damn good imitation of a mating call.

I left home at 9am Saturday and got home after 4pm in Sunday.

It was then that I discovered that my youngest son had banged his top two teeth playing at the park on Saturday.

They were very wobbly but didn’t come out. They’re baby teeth and the emergency dentist appointment on Monday morning reassured us that they’ll fall out soon and the permanent ones should be okay.

My husband didn’t tell me because he didn’t want me to be worried.

I reminded him that I’m great at worrying and when it comes to the kids teeth I’d rather know.

So here’s to good times, girls weekends and wobbly teeth.

May there be more.

Leave a Reply

