Life’s not fair…

I spent some time yesterday with my 98 year old great aunt.

I was my usual inappropriate self and stole one of her chocolates that she’d won at Bingo and then reprimanded her for gambling.

I also held her hand and stroked it and talked with her about her daughter who had passed away the day before.

My great aunt is my late Granny’s sister.

We talked about all sorts of things and had a little cry too.

Life isn’t fair. I don’t think that being 98 and living in a nursing home and burying your only daughter is fair.

But that’s how it goes sometimes.

You could make a list of all the things that aren’t fair.

I think we all spend some time on the list during our lives.

Some stay on the list longer than others.

(Some think they are on the list but they are possibly lacking a little perspective about others.)

We all have moments where things aren’t fair and can’t be fixed in the short term.

I have friends that I wish I could wave a magic wand for and help them. Help pull them out from deep, dark black holes and shower them in some sunshine.

Let them know that sooner or maybe much, much later that things can get better.

But life isn’t fair.

And I have two beautiful friends/second cousins who lost the most amazing mother on Friday.

She has left a hole in their hearts that will never ever mend.

She was an elegant and proper lady from another generation.

But I will picture her most on her daughters blue couch knitting something.

She was wise in a way that I’m smart enough not to even contemplate emulating.

She was brave and sweet.

She sent me a message on Wednesday saying that she loved me.

And on Friday she got up out of her hospital bed, had a shower and went back to bed for a rest.

She’s not in pain anymore.

So that’s fair. But life isn’t.

xx

Leave a Reply

