9…

It’s been 9 years today since I had major abdominal surgery and became a mum.

It’s been 9 years since I landed the best job on earth.

9 years since I learned that if you try real hard you can worry about everything that might go wrong and still be exhausted when it doesn’t.

9 years since I fell in love expecting nothing in return.

My beautiful boy turned 9 and spent most of the night and morning vomiting.

Spaghetti bolognese is off the menu for a while.

My poor little man was crying and asking why he couldn’t stop vomiting on his birthday.

And because I’m downright weird and I act inappropriately all the time I got the giggles.

This kid understands and gets me more than most of my friends.

He is intuitive and picks up on subtleties and knows when to just hug me.

He tells me that he loves me and helps me with his younger brother a lot.

He is emotional and feels things deeply.

He is also observant and kind.

On Friday night we were boarding a plane and the lady checking our tickets was very friendly.

As we were walking to the plane he looked at me and said “Mum that lady is joyful just like you.”

And I just stopped and thanked him.

I know that he sees how hard it is for me sometimes when his little brother is angry and won’t listen to me especially when his Dad is away traveling.

He knows my moods and when not to push me.

He knows when I need coffee.

He still kisses me goodbye in the school car park and doesn’t even care if his friends see.

He makes me be a better person.

I am proud of him and proud to be his Mum.

If only I could get him to eat his vegetables.

xx

Leave a Reply

