Back to reality…

“Snap back to reality, oh there goes gravity”…

School holidays are over and my husband is back to traveling a lot.

He’s only home on Saturday for the next 2 weeks. That’s 6 days of the week for me to rule the world and one day for me to flake out and probably snap a bit about how I’m the only one putting away the washing.

My head throbs thinking about it all.

I took a mum from my preschool to visit a special school for her son on Wednesday and she told me how she couldn’t survive without her family’s support.

She said she speaks to her dad and her mum at least 5 times a day.

She has a lot of support. Her husband works for her brother and her parents baby sit nearly every day.

I don’t have that.

A lot of people don’t.

But I kind of wish I did.

I get lonely doing it all on my own.

I’d like to be looked after a little bit too.

My husband’s flight home tonight has been delayed so I’m in bed watching Sleepless in Seattle and feeling slightly smug because I’ve had a good week.

The boys and I are happy. Apart from the 7 year old questioning why he needs to have baths and what would happen if he didn’t do poo anymore.

There are daily dilemmas that I see coming and can duck under and swat away with ease.

Didn’t have any of the other kind this week. The problems that jump out from the shadows and kick you in the teeth.

My teeth are in tact and so is my sanity.

And tomorrow I’m sleeping in.

xx

Leave a Reply

