Choosing my own adventure…

I am a preschool teacher.

Well I am for the next few weeks anyway.

And yesterday in the midst of sooooo much stuff that’s “not in my job description” I practiced mindfulness while laminating.

You can’t rush a laminator.

Actually that could be a slogan on a mug for teachers.

So instead of rushing around like the crazy person that I am I stepped into the work kitchen and quietly laminated.

Is there anything more soothing than a task that you can’t rush?

Kind of like waiting for the toast to pop up or the kettle to boil.

A moment in your day to just wait for the machine that your using to do its job.

Last week I was on an interview panel for teachers that will be replacing me.

On that Thursday night I was wondering if I’d made the right choice in resigning.

By 9:30am Monday morning I was reminded of my good choice.

I don’t know what I’m going to do next year but I’m going to make sure that there is some more time for me.

I would like to create something amazing but it seems like all the amazing things have already been created by people who are 23.

So instead of creating something deliberate maybe I just need to be more open to adventures.

Be more willing to say yes.

And no.

Spend more time outside appreciating my surroundings and listening to music and drinking lots of water.

Clearing my head.

Freeing my soul. (Whatever that means.)

I want next year to be the year when I don’t be who other people want me to be. No pressure to please or entertain.

Yesterday a friend asked if I was busy tomorrow and the answer was no. So tomorrow I’m off on an adventure that I haven’t planned. In the past this lack of control would have had me freaking out but I’m looking forward to whatever.

I mean whatever providing there’s good coffee.

I keep changing. I change my taste in foods, music and tv.

I am not who I used to be but in a good way I hope.

I think I might be growing up.

Leave a Reply

